Reading on Trains

Why read while riding the train?

If you’re the type of passenger who’d rather not meet the eyes of the other passengers, reading a book is a great defense. A book shields the gaze of others on your face and prevents you from looking at other people, albeit on purpose or not.

Plus reading is also more diversionary than just listening to songs on the player, be it yours or someone else’s.

But I just had to start reading Percy Jackson and the Olympians: The Lightning Thief even before I got to the office. That or the sights from the train have begun to become very deathly predictable.

That one dull experience of reading without disturbance began this for me.

Of course, it helped that the book I was reading was based on mythology. That alone could prove to be the hook, line, and sinker for me. And I just had to read on the train, even if it was too crowded, too stinky, and too humid inside. And if you have taken the LRT anytime between 5-7 pm on a weekday, you have a pretty good idea of what I go through just to flip a page.

Seriously why read while riding the train? I could do something I love while doing something I have to do.

Reading on trains can prove to be inconvenient, uncomfortable, even a waste. But that is for the inexperienced, the quitter, and the untrained.

My name is Mati. I read on trains.

6 thoughts on “Reading on Trains

  1. I envy people who can read while on a moving vehicle. I’d love to be able to read to while away the tedious hours of travelling rather than listening to the same songs over and over. But I can’t, I just can’t. I get travel sick easily. ;__;

    Like

  2. @Kat: I didn’t start out like that. I began reading on trains during the last quarter of 2009.

    Oh. That’s unfortunate. Sorry about that.

    I don’t come across many people who have motion sickness. Or they don’t tell me and they’re able to cope with it (in silence). The only two ways I know they do have motion sickness is when they insist on riding up front/shotgun and they bring out ointments.

    Like

  3. I also do this while riding the train. ^_^ This helps a lot when studying for an exam. I review inside the train. Especially if its line 2. XD Idk but I have the fullest of my concentration on those times.

    Like

    • @Euryx: it’s only been about two years since I started reading like this. But yes, I do understand the need for this. And it’s good that you take LRT2 because, of the four trains we have here, Line 2 is way better than the others. More room, smoother running, and cleaner (looking).

      And good luck with your study and reviews!

      Like

  4. I’ve been reading on the MRT since college. It all started with Harry Potter. I didn’t mind all the stares of the people around me. They have no idea how much fun I was having back then. Haha!

    Nowadays, it’s been so much easier for me to read on public transportation with the help of my beloved Kindle. Reading on it sort of removed the stigma of being an avid book reader because it’s a tech gadget and those always look cool to anyone. 😛

    Like

    • @Patrick: having a gadget around reminded of one trick I did back in college. The Walkman was still in (somehow) and although I had it with me and I had the earphones on, nothing was playing. There’s something funny about listening to what people say when they believe you’re not listening. >:)

      There are more tech-loving people on your line than mine. That or the other passengers are too old to care for newfangled stuff. Anyway, I hope you are careful with that Kindle of yours, especially when you bring it out into the open for people to see. Ingat!

      Like

What do you think?

