Something Wicked This Way Comes

Something Wicked This Way Comes
Something Wicked This Way Comes By Ray Bradbury

I love Ray Bradbury’s “The Fog Horn.” This isn’t anything like “The Fog Horn.”

That was why I thought of buying and reading this particular piece: I really liked the short story and I believed that the book would have the same effect on me. The ocean was calm, prepared for a coming storm.

First few pages were such a yawn. I thought it was building up the suspense. I was already halfway through the book and there was the suspense all right. But it just didn’t feel right. It didn’t come off as suspenseful.

No storm stirred the waters. I fell asleep in the boat.

Surprisingly I bought a sleeper in the guise of a thriller. I just become lethargic whenever I read through it. And I was powering through it, mind you. But I am but a mere mortal facing a god of sleep.

Maybe I will be able to conquer it someday, when I am completely bored out of my wits. But until then, I have other things that would keep me awake and reading.

But yes, I still love Ray Bradbury’s “The Fog Horn.” And I have to come across one that feels like it.

What do you think?

