Bedtime Tales: Where the Wild Things Are and Outside Over There

I cannot recall how I came across Sendak’s works.

For one thing, my memories as a kid can only go as far. And what I remember seem like flashes from a forgotten dream or remnants of my childhood imagination. But whenever I see these two books, they feel oddly familiar.

So here are two beloved pieces of my childhood.

Where the Wild Things Are
By Maurice Sendak

Where the Wild Things Are
Where the Wild Things Are By Maurice Sendak; Re-Read: 2009

Yes, I am one of the many who remembered this book because of the movie. And I am also one of the few who just had to buy a copy of the book.

But why buy a book you could finish reading in under seven minutes?

I want a piece of something real. It may not be the same book that I came across when I was a kid. But this book is one of the few books that could still bring out the kid in me. And I do feel like a kid, even if only for seven minutes.

And it’s a very good seven minutes that I want to take home.

Outside Over There
By Maurice Sendak

Outside Over There
Outside Over There By Maurice Sendak; Re-Read: 2009

Somehow, I am sure that this book was featured in Batibot.

Batibot is the Philippines’ answer to the America’s Sesame Street. And of all the segments in that show, the storytelling part was the most awaited for me. Plus that mesmerizing and enigmatic background music!

Now I don’t remember the story. But I remember the illustrations, especially of the babies. And then I was shocked to know that they weren’t babies at all.

Ever since I re-read the book, I couldn’t help but recall old wives’ tales about changelings and how to undo a swap or retrieve a stolen baby. It usually involved broken eggs. Guess that’s why I was expecting the inclusion of an egg in the arsenal. But Sendak had other plans and weapons.

For the record though, I never got to buy the book. I was short on cash. I did go back for it. But like a number of books I want to claim for myself, it wasn’t there anymore.

What do you think?

