A Separate Peace

A Separate Peace
A Separate Peace by John Knowles

Now that I think about it, this is a pre-war book.

But even before WW2 began, something dark was already stirring in the school campus. From that back blurb, I thought Finny and Gene would kill each other. Or do some other ghastly deed that would usher in the other nightmares of war. Although I didn’t hit the bull’s eye, I was close to the mark. No spoilers mind you.

The beginning of the book is a drag. I wanted something exciting to happen fast. It did pick up the pace soon enough.

I don’t know about you but spending the summer in school may not exactly be a good definition of fun. But I guess that depends on where you are and whom you’re with. And surely Finny made it all worth while.

Sometimes, I even think that Finny may have been the precursor to Disney’s Phineas and Ferb. But that may be stretching it too far.

One thing that I kept going back on the first time I read the book was The Jump. Now I understood every word there. But something just didn’t made sense. No matter how many times I read it, I couldn’t get it. Sometimes, the answer could be staring right back at me and I still couldn’t see it. Only by a few chapters later with the help of Leper did I understand what I knew or what I refused to realize.

Going through the motions and reading a book that’s practically a mirror of your affairs, there will be some things that you already see but don’t want to look at.

What would be surprising about this book is if you read and feel nothing.

What do you think?

