Father

Father
Father Edited by Claudia O’Keefe; Read 2009

I rarely read non-fiction.

And when I do read non-fiction, I am much pickier. That said, it escapes me why I bought this book. I believe that, since I bought it in May, this would get me into a “fatherly” mood by next month. In time for Father’s Day, if that escapes you.

Guess the book worked its magic on me.

Well, the stories aren’t magical, neither are any of the characters or any other element. But every one of them held me captive until each story’s end. It was like listening to my own friends talk about their fathers.

Sometimes I could identify with the author’s childhood. Other times, I found theirs strange. And when that happens, I picture my father doing the stuff mentioned in the story. My imagination either hits or misses.

Certainly, this anthology is nostalgia trip. Guess that’s why I took it again the following year.

What do you think?

