33rd Manila International Book Fair – Day One

33rd Manila International Book Fair - From the 2F
33rd Manila International Book Fair – From the 2F

First day high!

I challenged myself that I would go to the first day of the 33rd Manila International Book Fair (MIBF). For the last few years, I have been going on any day except the first day. This year, I wanted to do something different. Plus I wanted to see the difference. And what differences I saw!

To be frank, I was expecting a big crowd since today is the first day, which basically meant a race for those rare and only-one-in-the-stock books. But there weren’t that many people there. If there was a group that I was wary of, it was a line of chubby and cute pupils from a private school. They looked so nice in their uniforms but I didn’t take a picture of them, least I be suspected as a pedo.

Since there’s a wider variety of books (as opposed to the selection that would be in the coming days), it’s understandable to see a lot of shutterbugs. And they took advantage of the space afforded by the not-so populated place. Plus it’s likelier that the books could be photographed before they were touched by people.

Fully Booked joins MIBF
Fully Booked joins MIBF

One more thing I realized is that it was quieter today. There were programs going on both floors but they weren’t the games, quizzes, and speeches that usually happen in the later days.

Plus, I also got freebies and prizes!

Freebies and prizes
Freebies and prizes

Well, I have always walked away with free magazines but this is the first time that I got bookmarks, “poster,” and utility keepers. And I would’ve gotten more had I been more patient in lining up for the cashier.

Lugging around a heavy haul is tiring. And so I gave up after a couple of hours, even though I haven’t toured the whole place. I fear I would buy more than I could bring home.

MIBF first haul
MIBF first haul

But before leaving, I decided to pass by Swensen’s. It’s been almost a year now since I raced to be one of the first 100 customers. And I have yet to use my card for a free scoop.

My name is there somewhere
My name is there somewhere

Once home, I was asked if I’d be able to actually read all of them. I’ll do what I could.

2 thoughts on “33rd Manila International Book Fair – Day One

    • Cool. My first time at MIBF, I was with my best friend and we went there on afternoon of the last day. The energy of the place then was quite high.

      Kung matuloy man ikaw, enjoy mo. And keep safe!

      Like

What do you think?

