I Hope You Dance

Love, love, love.
You have to love, and if you don’t get love right, you have to move on and forgive.
And then you have to remember that you’ve forgiven, or else you can’t move on.
And if you don’t move on, you’ll surely end up… bitter.
Don’t let some hell-bent heart leave you bitter.
(And don’t say I didn’t warn you)
There are too many people too angry at a world that isn’t in the least bit angry at them.

I Hope You Dance
I Hope You Dance
By Mark D. Sanders and Tia Sillers

Do you like to read advice?

Guess that’s where my reading path would really lead to. A few of the books in our house are collections of quotes. I found them to be witty, funny, and snarky. Most of all, they were enlightening. That’s why I enjoyed them. And upon reading daily broadsheets and magazines, I found those quotes used in advice columns, which gave me the same kind of pleasure.

I also came to notice the lyrics of certain songs. Some of them had lines that were gems but they were few and far in between. That’s why I’ve always been on the lookout for such pieces, where beautiful music meets not just good words but also great advice.

That is why I came to love “I Hope You Dance” from the first time I heard it.

Granted, it’s taken from a parent’s POV and I am far from having a kid of my own. But we all come across some absolute moment of clarity in our lives, a point where we see some sense to what we have done and experienced so far that we want to share this with someone.

But you could only say so much in four minutes and 50 seconds. Yet you wish that in that time, maybe a word of yours gave someone an impact, maybe even a direction to that same clarity that you felt.

For that, I love the idea that people who produced the song also came up with book of the same title. And yes, it does contain the lyrics (plus the single) of the song. But there’s a whole lot more there than just words to a chart hit.

Every line in the song is expounded on. And everything there remains so simple. From the wonderful words to the perfect photographs, every detail is just fantastic.

Plus the authors sound like my parents. Just with less words but with the same goal in mind.

I guess that’s what parents and most of the older folks would like to tell those younger than them; their advice is ultimately about hope. Their life is about the same hope they received from their parents which they pass on to their kids.

(The quotes at the beginning and end of this post are from the book, I Hope You Dance.)

What would you be without hope growing deep in your bones, thriving in every inch of you? Nothing.
What does it take to hope? Everything.
Life is the leap of faith, the bold declaration of Hope.

2 thoughts on “I Hope You Dance

What do you think?

