Little Constants in My Life | Daily Prompt: VIP

Who’s the most important person in your life — and how would your day-to-day existence be different without them?

Technically they’re two people but I’ve always seen them as one: my parents.

Ma is the active aspect of the home while Pa works quietly in the background. I can’t say that they’ve perfected their routines and their dynamics are sound yet, strangely, it all works out. It does pay that both of them possess great faith in the people and things they love. And that they pray a lot!

Even if you ask them if they’re the doting type, it’s likely that they’d say they’re not. But they are. In their own way, at least.

Like most Filipino parents, they feel a close bond to all their kids, even if they have all grown up and can sustain themselves. From those daily reminders about taking vitamins and bringing an umbrella to asking how work is and pleading with me to eat more vegetables. Those moments always make me feel like a grade-schooler, which can be both good and bad.

Well, yeah, my relationship with my parents isn’t exactly exemplary but it’s not that awful either.

As with most young adults, I too feel like I need to spread my wings and do stuff on my own. I experience change every day. While it can be overwhelming, it’s great to know that there are little constants in my life.

Grateful am I that they decided to have me in their lives.

8 thoughts on “Little Constants in My Life | Daily Prompt: VIP

What do you think?

