Varying Degrees Every Day | Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy

We cry for lots of reasons: sadness, pain, fear . . . and happiness. When was the last time you shed tears of joy?

I actually don’t know if I have done that.

For one thing, I place distinction between relief and joy. Like this: I cried a little when my friends and I got pulled up to safety instead of falling into a ravine; I wasn’t exactly “happy” at that time—I was relieved that someone saved us. And that no one died. Joy is celebrating our continued life. No one cried about that.

Tears of joy, I believe, are rarer.

Not that joy itself is rare but what would move you to tears are. There are many things, possibly even too many things, can make us feel joy but not enough things that would make us cry about it. That or we feel joy in varying degrees every day so, when we actually feel an extreme degree of joy, there’s no welling up and water works. All we have there are smiles, gestures, expressions, and jumps.

Or people feel silly, crying while being happy. I don’t know.

9 thoughts on “Varying Degrees Every Day | Daily Prompt: Happy Happy Joy Joy

  1. You make a good point about relief joy and ‘happy’ joy – I think the tears come when there is some history involved, when the joy goes against expectations maybe.

    Like

What do you think?

