The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead

The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead By Max Brooks Read: March 2013
The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead
By Max Brooks
Read: March 2013

For the record, I did not read this because I like “The Walking Dead.”

It happened to be one of those random little walks inside the book store and I happened to chance on the title. It was really arresting! My best friend said that a friend of his had been reading that book then pointed out stuff that supposedly made sense, like bike vs. car and bow and arrows vs. gun and bullets.

We asked if there was a copy other than what was on display. The attendant checked. When he returned, he reported that that was the only left in the store.

So my impulse kicked in and when we got out, I had a new book with me.

I, the Non-Believer

I wanted a break from novels and serials so I tried this.

Far from disappointing, it was even beyond entertaining. It was almost convincing. Almost thou persuadest me to be a believer.

For a non-believer, I was still proudly displaying it. Even mentioning it in conversations, when the opportunity presented itself—like that time when I was talking to the head of the legal department. He thought that I was just pulling his leg. A book on how to survive a zombie attack? The mere thought of it was preposterous!

So I went to my office and fetched the book.

He was about to leave for a meeting when I handed him the book. He flipped through it a little then smiled at me. He left with my book in his hand. It’s not unusual to bring a book to a meeting. But to bring a survival guide about a zombie attack just asks for the quizzical.

When he got back, which was after about 30 minutes, he began regaling me about the stuff that he leafed through. He read mostly on the weapons and fortification. And so the discussion about zombies began.

But not before telling me about an interesting person.

A Believer amongst Us

There happens to be an office employee who has been fortifying his homestead against a possible zombie attack.

When that was revealed to me, I began to imagine the tips from the book used upon an actual typical Philippine house. Personally, the book is a better guide to those in America than anyone else in the world. Then it occurred to me: has he read the book or anything for that matter? What has he done to his house? What does it look like now?

Questions like that are borderline personal. I don’t know much about him in the first place.

He’s very cheery. Loves to tell jokes and smiles a lot but has this intense stare. And he rides a bike to and from the office! (If you’ve read the book, you’d know what all the emphasis on bikes are—but because a man rides a bike daily doesn’t make him an actual believer, does it?)

Actually, between the two of us, it’d be likelier you’d pick me as the believer. But that’s my imagination running away with me.

Looks can be deceiving. I know. But what I don’t know is what convinced him. I want to know why he believes that in the actual possibility of a zombie apocalypse.

“Preacher” on the Train

You know how sometimes, when you read a book, the person next to you does too?

That happened a lot when I was reading this book. And even those who were in front of me would stare once they read (and reread) the title. It’s quite amazing to see how focused they become when looking at the cover—even when there’s not much to see and read there.

Sometimes, I think of reading aloud. But I always stop myself.

And yet the mere act of taking out a book catches people’s attention. When that happens, as they look at my book, I look at their faces and wonder if they too believe or are mere readers.

3 thoughts on “The Zombie Survival Guide: Complete Protection from the Living Dead

    • Since I started reading this book, I have been on the look out for other Max Brooks books but I always luck out. It’s even possible that the movie would start showing and I still haven’t read it.

      Hope you do get to read Survival Guide.

      Like

What do you think?

