Sensitive and Offensive | Daily Prompt: The Social Network

Do you feel like you “get” social media, or do you just use it because that’s where all your friends and family are?

What I get is that I don’t get it.

I met new friends there. Which is cool. I have yet to see them in person. But none of us is in a hurry to do that. And I believe that even if we never do, we’d still be cool about it. That’s the good part about social media; despite being miles or a block away, you have “unknown” friends in various places.

But social media has its bad parts. Not in itself really but it has become an avenue to do such stuff.

Many of the people out there can and have written about cyber bullying. I think it’s best to leave it to those who have more passion for it than I do. I can’t discuss having a family member in my online circle because I don’t. I know I would feel uncomfortable—not because I’m doing stuff that could shame them—but I feel like being watched over and checked on. Strangers who stalk are enough.

Has it ever reached a point that the more you learn about a person, the more that it feels like you don’t?

And if that’s not bad enough, you’re suddenly left out. I understand that there are people with a constant longing for new friends. Making fresh connections, unlocking personal mysteries, getting a new perspective. Good, really. But what happens to old friends?

“Out with the old, in with the new?”

People can be both sensitive and offensive, even at the same time. People can and will believe that every post is about them. Truth is, it’s not always the case. And if you are affected by any of it, you’ve done something.

5 thoughts on “Sensitive and Offensive | Daily Prompt: The Social Network

What do you think?

