The Things I Unknowingly Believed In | Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question

Why do you blog?

Write to express, not to impress.

That’s the short of it (credit to my literature professor in college for the quote). The long of it?

Could you really call it blogging if it’s only within Friendster? I doubt. And when it finally closed, I dulled my writing edge so badly, it took a strong jolt of sugar and music to let it all kick back in. Despite being employed for a publishing company and a writer myself, I don’t write for a living. And that’s one of the biggest frustrations in my life. That’s also one of the things that may have contributed to the slow death of my skill.

For one to be a writer, one must become a reader.

Reading is an essential part of being a writer that, sadly, I left behind in college. I was so excited to work—even if I wasn’t going to do what I wanted to do—that I got caught up with papers that I did not flip pages for years.

My love for books would be revived when I enter a bookstore but it’d die the second I leave. And even if I bought a book, it would be months before I read it, more so before it was followed.

Patrick came in at that point. He made me rediscover reading. And it was only one recommendation! But it was for a series of books. And that made quite a difference. I was no longer reading a lone novel. It was a series. There was follow-up. There was a continuity, a constancy, a universal conspiracy for me to get back on track!

I may have come back to reading and I have started the blog a couple of years back. But I still didn’t write much.

A couple of girl friends were of help to me just then. Pam just started blogging so I gave her a few pointers. She mentioned adding friends, which I never really considered before. I looked it up and there were a few others who are bloggers themselves. I’m a follower of theirs but I don’t know if they know who I really am, since my blogger name and real name are way too different.

One of the blogger friends that I followed is a teacher, Shiela. I read her posts and, of them all, she’s the one that looked like she was having the time of her life here. I could use a little fun in blogging myself. So I took up the Daily Prompt challenge too.

So here I am, blogging. While, yes, I have been doing it to express myself, it has been a way to discover the things I unknowingly believed in and come across people I’d never know if it weren’t for all this.

For any and every blogger out there, for friends I have known and have yet to meet—thank you for the inspiration!

6 thoughts on “The Things I Unknowingly Believed In | Daily Prompt: Million-Dollar Question

What do you think?

