A Creature of Habit | Daily Prompt: Your Time to Shine

Early bird, or night owl?

By default, I’m an early bird.

It comes with years of supposed training. My family wakes up early. Add to that the facts that I am a light sleeper and, once fully awake, it’s likelier that I’ll never get back to sleep. If anything, I’ll toss and turn in bed, wasting the time away.

Also, by becoming a creature of habit, though it’s a long holiday or a week-long leave, it takes great effort on my part to not wake up even when the alarm didn’t go off.

Frankly, I’d love to have that ability of some of my friends; they could sleep for 12 hours straight!

There were times when I had to be awake until the next day. While that doesn’t really make me into a night owl, it surely refreshes my perspective. It gives me a whole new respect for sleep and my bed. And, like everyone else, I’m cranky when I don’t get enough rest. Power naps could only do so much.

2 thoughts on “A Creature of Habit | Daily Prompt: Your Time to Shine

What do you think?

