Headphones | Daily Prompt: The Little Things

Describe a little thing — one of the things you love that defines your world but is often overlooked.

Sennheiser HD 438
Sennheiser HD 438

As a kid, I did not give headphones a second thought.

They looked heavy, bulky, and limiting. And who’d want something that would make you the only listener when you could let everyone else hear what you were listening to?

Some ten years more and I changed my mind.

Clearly, I wasn’t the only one who rode that train of thought. Who hasn’t had noisy neighbors? The kind of people who held a party from five blocks away yet sounded like they were right in the next room. It’s exasperating when you want to listen to something but you can’t because someone else inflicts on you and the rest of the village what he believes is good music—or great singing, whichever is happening.

But sometimes, the noise comes from inside your own home. Be it the TV, radio, phone, or just another episode in the unending family drama.

Which is why I am thankful for headphones!

 

4 thoughts on “Headphones | Daily Prompt: The Little Things

  1. hello there! i love your insights re: headphones, or shall we say our own little private idaho in our mind. i love music, all types, but more specifically classic rock. i’m a big fan of stereos and mini components before but when they come up with smartphones and download apps to make your headphones sound more professional, i never leave home without one stuck in my ear. and by the way, when it’s getting too damn noisy in the office, it’s easy to go for the headphones than bear with mindless banterings. he he he. have a nice day, bro!

    Like

    • I do that at the office too. My only complaint is that, when I do, people suddenly begin talking to me or calling me. Sucks but that’s life there.

      Thanks for the compliment bro!

      Like

      • allow me to comment a little on that. how come people don’t get it when you don’t wanna be disturbed. i always say “sorry, i can’t hear you” and they tell me it’s because i have headphones. but that’s exactly the point. ha ha ha. some people.

        Like

What do you think?

