Is this thing permanent? | Daily Prompt: Dulled

You encounter a mysterious man offering you a magic potion that, once sipped, will make one of your senses (sight, hearing, taste, smell, touch) super sharp — but dull the others. Will you sip it, and if so, what sense do you choose?

“Super sharpens one sense but dulls the others eh? And I could choose which one?”

Admittedly, I am torn between sight and touch.

For starters, I have always wondered if sight was heightened enough, would I be able to see those “things” that the naked eye can’t see? I’m not referring to particles and everything smaller than them. I’m talking about presences—the inexplicable stuff that seem to pass you by around certain areas but could never see, most often said to be because one’s third eye is closed. So, if the two usual eyes developed such a super sense, maybe there won’t be a need for a third eye.

Touch? Well, because I’ve been so impressed by those karate masters in movies. Even though they’re blind, they could detect any presence just by the mere displacement of the air. And that’s cool.

But before I get taken away by the coolness, I have to ask.

“Is this thing permanent? Or does it wear off after a few hours or days? Or what if I changed my mind after I’ve drunk it?”

Only after he has answered, would I consent. Or not. I just hope this man is honest. And not just out there to make a buck or to get a laugh. Or add another victim to his collection. Or create a new guinea pig. Or worse.

 

7 thoughts on “Is this thing permanent? | Daily Prompt: Dulled

  1. ‘Is this thing permanent?’ Brilliant question to ask before drinking magic liquids. Great post again. I really enjoyed reading it.

    Like

What do you think?

