What I Named My Blog After | Daily Prompt: Goals

When you started your blog, did you set any goals? Have you achieved them? Have they changed at all?

Blogging makes me read books.

Some years ago, when my work load was way lighter than it is now, I had ample time to spare, even when it’s not break time. I could read books there. And even blog there. With such loose schedule, I could read at least one book a month. To me, that constancy was enough to keep my blog alive.

Yet some books proved to be challenging, in weight, breadth, and/or content. So, if that was the case, it took me a while to finish one. But I wanted to remain consistent. That’s why I developed the habit of reading books while riding the train, ergo the title of my blog.

As much as I love and have kept reading books for years, it was not what I was being paid to do.

My work load changed. My “free” time at the office decreased. I would still increase efforts to read as much as and faster than before. But it took a toll on me. Soon, I had to admit defeat. I could no longer post monthly. And that was kind of sad for me.

While, technically, the Daily Prompts are posts, they are not what I named my blog after.

No, I have not lost sight of my original goal. I know what this blog is meant to do. And I will keep at it, even if it takes me a while longer than I usually do.

 

13 thoughts on “What I Named My Blog After | Daily Prompt: Goals

  1. Hi Mati, from e blogs I have read and follow, most of us started blogging during a slump in activities, from losing a job to slower work load… And I can atest to the fact that it is hard to see our blogs steering away from our initial focus, though, in the end I feel that blogging as a whole just captures our heart and survives…read you soon, Alexandra

    Like

What do you think?

