The Letter That Killed Me | Daily Prompt: Never

Tell us about a thing you’ll never write about.

I’ll never tell you about her.

I’ll never tell you how she caught my attention by asking for my attention.
I’ll never tell about how she looked so cute and beautiful and amazing and wonderful and outrageous all at the same time when I first saw her, whenever I saw her, whenever I see her.

I’ll never tell you how my name never sounded the same after she said it.

I’ll never tell you of the songs that I could only sing because of her.
I’ll never write about the letters and the notes I sent her every day.
I’ll never show you the poems I wrote because of her.

I’ll never tell you about the heaven that she revealed to me.
I’ll never show you the universe that she opened for me.
I’ll never write about the paradise that she delivered me to.

I’ll never tell you about how she turned me into a god.

I’ll never tell you about how I immortalized her.

I’ll never tell you about how she tortured me.
I’ll never write about how she made me suffer.
I’ll never show you the letter that killed me.

I’ll never show how the ballads and lullabies turned into dirges and elegies.
I’ll never write how the light and the day turned into shadows and night.
I’ll never tell you how she destroyed the whole world.

I’ll never write about my loathing.
I’ll never write about my despair.
I’ll never write about my regrets.
I’ll never write about my hate.
I’ll never write about my pain.

I’ll never tell you that it hurts when I see her and the new guy.
I’ll never tell you that she hates that I hate her.
I’ll never tell you that she wants us to be friends.
I’ll never tell you about the confusion when she said that she misses my letters more (than me).

I’ll never tell you—or anyone else for that matter—that I still love her.
I’ll never tell.
Never.

357 thoughts on “The Letter That Killed Me | Daily Prompt: Never

  1. All I can say is wow, Wow, WOW. Sorry to be so redundant, but this post has left me at a loss for words . . . something that NEVER happens to me! (yet, something for which I’m very grateful)

    Like

  2. WOW
    Sometimes somethings leave you speechless,
    Thats because all compliments would prove less.
    I’ve two words for you,
    and they are not ‘move on’.
    They are ‘Keep Writing’,
    so that I can keep reading.

    Like

  3. awww…another heartbreak…i so hate it…. and its best to not tell as you will grieve more…i am sending you my prayers and wishes and i hope, infact am sure, a very deserving love will sought u soon. good luck and wishes. you have so much pain and power in your words….thanks for sharing.

    Like

  4. That was something else. I would love to hear more, or actually see you put some of these where people could see them like poetry competitions, you would definately win, keep up the good work <3.

    Like

  5. An emotional phase of love, scripted into the poem in a hypnotic way. Very well thought, and even better written. The depth in each and every word shows the perfect picture of love. Great work : )

    Like

  6. Isn’t it wonderful to be able to release by writing-it-out? I’m hopeful that one day you’ll be over the sadness, learn the lesson intended from the “experience” , and be ready to move forward. Or you may already be there..I can relate to these thoughts you’ve shared. Long ago I loved someone so deeply..Someone I didn’t dream was even capable of making me heartsick. But years later(took me a while) I grew from that experience. And I cherish what was so very, very good while it was good. Stay UPlifted & blessed!

    Like

  7. This is fantastic. What a wonderful writer you are. Thank you for posting it. Take it from a slightly less cruel version of ‘Her,’ she probably knows deep down exactly what she has done. Congratulations on being Freshly Pressed!

    Like

  8. Lovely piece of emotional turmoil, ever thought of putting it into music…Would make a great song…It helps the grief of lost love…The best love poems have been inspired by broken hearts.

    Like

  9. Damn. Yeah, I totally understand this feeling, even though I haven’t been “in love” for a long time now. I think falling in love is foolish, irrational and a total waste of time – you build your beloved up in your mind into a perfect, angelic being, which is simply pure fantasy. You’re just setting yourself up for hurt and disappointment.

    But it still happens, even against our will, doesn’t it?

    Like

  10. What a powerful statement. It strikes such a chord in me and reminds me of the force that life has to give and take away. Incredible.

    Like

  11. I’m sorry this happened to you and I love how you’ve written about it. Learn from it and move on…. do not repeat with someone new! Make it a once in a lifetime…. Keep writing though!

    Like

  12. I am trying to say something witty but unfortunately the only word that is coming out of my mouth after reading this is wow. Thank you for sharing this wonderful piece.

    Like

  13. This is raw, vulnerable, and beautiful. Thank you for sharing with all of us.. its crazy how these life experiences make us all unique while at the same time connect us.

    Like

  14. I love this. After reading, this is or what I’ve felt for years for a certain someone. I love how real and deep this entry is. I almost feel as if you wrote this just so I could stumble upon this and read it. I’m going to read the rest of your work. Good Job!

    Like

  15. this is beautiful. truly beautiful and incredibly moving. it’s all so real, and i can feel the pain in your writing, clearly haunted by that certain someone. wonderful writing! kudos to you x

    Like

  16. I had to stop reading the entry towards the end, then I picked up where I left off a few moments later. The last stanza’s hit a bit too close to home for me. I thank you for sharing this

    Like

  17. This echoes my own feelings. However, even in a million years I could not express them so beautifully. Very intense, very touching. I wish you with all the love, joy and happiness ever.

    Like

  18. OMG, WOW xinfinite!!!! You my friend, just made my day… I know this is supposed to be a painful poem, but I am sharing it to everyone I know… Keep writing more poems… please! Again, you made my day… 😀

    Like

    • Not worded like that but yes, that’s what she wanted.
      Frankly, I tried figuring out what makes the any article click for inclusion to the Freshly Pressed board but there’s no definitive answer.
      Anyway, thanks!

      Like

  19. I’m not sure if this is fiction or if it’s an experience you’ve had but you expressed your inner most feeling on a very painful subject: breaking up so well. I enjoyed your writing very much. Excellent entry for the prompt.
    Isadora

    Like

  20. I have just stumbled across this, what can I say that 311 responses have not already covered? Truly beautifully written, reaches the heart and soul and left me silently contemplating for a very long time after reading.

    Like

  21. i just stumbled upon this today…its so nice and sad at the same time…i don’t think i could ever express myself that well. on a side note: the lrt cheered me up.

    Like

  22. I love this poem and how you played with the words. I would have loved to see the letter even though I know it is personal. But it is very relateable I can really feel your pain.

    Like

What do you think?

