The Coin in My Hand | Daily Prompt: Morality Play

Where do your morals come from — your family? Your faith? Your philosophical worldview? How do you deal with those who don’t share them, or derive them from a different source?

I believe my morals come from my world.

As I try to shape my world, it also influences me. Everything that I believe and everything that I doubt are but the two sides of the same coin that I flip in my hand every day.

While it’s great to see similar coins in other people’s hands, I will come across those who don’t.

There are those who ask what I am doing and what coin I have in my hand. Then are those who take out theirs and compare with mine. Some dare me to flip it for as long as I could without stopping; others playing the same game to see if they could outmatch me. And a few who try to take it away from me.

How the coin lands back in my hand is a matter of technique—how open my palm is, how far my arm extends, and how stable my feet are. But none of that matters if I do not put any of them into practice. It would not matter if I hide my coin.

Yes, hiding the coin would make it safe. But that would render the skill useless and the coin unused.

Most logical thing to do is to be prepared. And to be prepared everyday.

 

11 thoughts on “The Coin in My Hand | Daily Prompt: Morality Play

  1. I quite like this quality of yours – the way you compare things, and make the writers think, where they have to take a long dip into your post with each sentence having intense depth. I like the way how you compare your blog to a train, and this topic to a coin. Your posts are hypnotic. Keep it up : )

    Like

What do you think?

