You Travel Too Far for Answers | Daily Prompt: Life Line

You’re on a long flight, and a palm reader sitting next to you insists she reads your palm. You hesitate, but agree. What does she tell you?

“Child, you travel too far for answers,” she says.

My open hand is still in hers. Her eyes look straight and deep into mine. A curl in her hair drops as she waits for me to respond. With her other hand, she fixes it.

“I don’t know where else to get them.”

“And it is not wrong to seek them in other places.” She clasps my hand in both of hers. Her warmth and sincerity flow from her palms to my lost soul. She gives me a smile. It’s a kind and knowing smile. I believe she knows what it is I am looking for. And also what I will find.

“May the heavens guard you always, dear child.” She lets go of my hand. I take them back.

And before she closes her eyes to take a nap, she whispers. “Remember, child: some things need to be believed to be seen.”

 

7 thoughts on “You Travel Too Far for Answers | Daily Prompt: Life Line

What do you think?

