Leftover Ramen | Daily Prompt: Thank You

The internet is full of rants. Help tip the balance: today, simply be thankful for something (or someone).

Ramen and Fried Chicken
Pork Ramen and Fried Chicken

“Thanks Jake!”

He went with me today to the SMX Convention Center for the Manila International Book Fair. But, before we did, we decided to grab a bite to eat. And, because we were in the mood for Japanese food, we decided to go to a certain restaurant at the SM Mall of Asia.

Jake has new diet restrictions. Mine are the same old ones. That’s why, when we gave orders, we specified that mine would have no pork at all while his would be in a separate bowl.

So, to our surprise, we saw neither order complied with. Neither one of us likes to complain but, then again, Jake could do with the pork still included in the ramen while I couldn’t. And I hesitate about doing so. So I just left it untouched.

He thought it would be a waste if I just really left it so he suggested giving it to any of the attendants. I said that, often or I have been told, restaurants have a rule that the staff cannot accept any food from any customer. The waitress gave us a solution when she cleared our table: take out.

And because Jake’s house is closer than mine, he took the ramen home.

Besides taking the leftover for me, he helped me carry my books around the convention center and look out for and pick out even more books. He’s a really good and great friend.

Once again, thanks Jake.

15 thoughts on “Leftover Ramen | Daily Prompt: Thank You

  1. I’m afraid I would have been the whiny complainer. If they mess up my order and it’s still something I like I won’t say anything but if it was something that I could not eat I would definitely have to be the obnoxious customer….

    Like

What do you think?

