A Whole Other Story | Lamb: The Gospel according to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal

Lamb: The Gospel according to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore; Read: November 2013
Lamb: The Gospel according to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal by Christopher Moore; Read: November 2013

Dear Mr. Christopher Moore

Hi!

I finished reading your book Lamb: The Gospel according to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal the other day. I bought it two years ago, upon learning that a kid—who races for a hobby—said that it is one of his favorite books. It was also at that time when I discovered the Infancy Gospel of Thomas. So when I found Lamb at a bookstore here, I had no second thoughts; I just had to buy it, if only to satisfy my curiosity.

Frankly, I was expecting stuff from Infancy Gospel of Thomas. Though that wasn’t in the book, I still found it quite entertaining, especially the Author’s Blessing. And I believe I was indeed blessed.

There were many parts I laughed at: whenever Biff educates Josh on sarcasm, Josh asks about sex, Raziel appears and talks wherever (except on the ship), Maggie as a kid, and the boys’ fathers and teachers. They’re quite a wacky bunch, funny even when they don’t mean to be.

Only one part greatly offended me: I couldn’t accept that your version of a Christ who ate pork products. Yes, I am well aware that this is a work of fiction and what all that implies but I really just can’t. The lesser offense was when he began spewing cusswords.

It is great how you worked in so many adventures into the story but the one that I didn’t count on was about the Yeti. It’s like a whole other story collided with yours. That part may have been brief but it was quite haunting.

Yet, of everything that you employed for this story, it’s Biff and his existence that amazed me.

I’ve read that Christ had friends but not a best friend. It’s a strange concept, since it’s not in the Bible. At least not explicit. And yet I find it familiar, even welcome that the Messiah had a close buddy.

While I love this spin on Christ’s childhood and his later years, I know I cannot recommend it to everyone I know. If I had problems with the pork, I believe they’ll have bigger problems with the other parts. That and they really don’t believe that humor exists where God is.

And with that said, I would like to thank you for writing the book and sharing your humor with us.

Respectfully,

Mati Serrano

5 thoughts on “A Whole Other Story | Lamb: The Gospel according to Biff, Christ’s Childhood Pal

  1. Ah stories like these will not be ok with others. But, I am okay with Saint Young Men/Saint Oniisan. 🙂

    There was an interesting take that Christ was actually a vegetarian. Instead of fish he ate seaweed. It was a mistranslated word in the old scriptures. Now…I don’t really know. And I don’t want to debate on this matter either.

    Like

What do you think?

