Resignation Letter Challenge | Real goodbyes are difficult

It was December 1, 2013.

Alone at the office, I intended to finish a particular job that day: write my resignation letter. But I don’t want it to be any usual letter that would sound technical, cold, and distant. I wanted to put my character into it. Yet that too would be easy.

So I thought, “I’m going to write this resignation letter without using the word ‘resign’ or any of its forms.”

I started out fine. But by the time I got to the second paragraph, I was tearing up. And it wasn’t helping that I was listening to a particular song that was playing in a loop. I was waxing nostalgic. I couldn’t help but remember the good and bad times I had at work. And why I have to leave.

Real goodbyes are difficult. You’ll mean every word. And every word is from your soul. Or so I believe.

Dear Sir:

Thank you.

Working six days a week for six years for the [Company Name] is a privilege only few ever experienced. So it took me a quite a long while to decide that it is time for me to accept the next challenge of my career and my life.

My last day as an employee of the company will be on January 5, 2014. That is a Sunday.

I will do what I can to aid you during the transition.

Once again, thank you for allowing me to be part of the company. It has been an honor that you gave me the chance to work with you and the rest of the Administration.

May you be blessed and may you be a blessing yourself.

Respectfully,

3 thoughts on “Resignation Letter Challenge | Real goodbyes are difficult

What do you think?

