Night Parade | Daily Prompt: Can’t Get it Out of My Head

Have you ever become obsessed with something? Tell us about something that captivates your attention like nothing else.

I ended up in the middle of a parade.

And it’s no usual human parade. It’s the march of demons, ghosts, and other creatures of the night. How did I end up there?

Some years ago, there was a horror anime series called “Gakkou no Kaidan” or “Ghost Stories”. At the end of every episode, while the closing credits were shown, shots of various demons and specters were shown. By the last few seconds, it is revealed that they’re marching in one direction and are led by a black cat. Not only was the picture haunting but the accompanying song—“Sexy Sexy” by Cascade—is also memorable.

Fast forward to a few days ago, which are all a blur. After watching an episode of “Hoozuki no Reitetsu”, I was on another demon hunt online when I saw picture of a group of demons marching. Though it was new to me, something about the look, about a long line of demons walking made it seem familiar.

While on Google Image search, I found a relevant article. The drawings are not just mere depictions of a parade. It’s called the “Hyakki Yagyō”, Japanese for the “Night Parade of a Hundred Demons”.

Hyakki Yagyō
Hyakki Yagyō

Anime fans and various artists have presented interesting renditions of the idea. And I remain fascinated with each one. And every time that I look for such pictures, the Cascade song accompanies me in the background. I’ve tried playing other songs but strangely it’s the only song that seems to fit.

That gave rise to a curiosity: is there a Philippine equivalent to the “Hyakki Yagyō”?

8 thoughts on “Night Parade | Daily Prompt: Can’t Get it Out of My Head

    • I watched XXXHolic too but I did not see any. That or I didn’t notice.

      Since coming across the idea, I’ve imagined kapres, tikbalangs, dwendes, tiyanaks, tiktiks, and so many other marching. But I kept wondering which of them is the leader.

      Like

  1. Interesting.:) Japanese myths and folk stories always fascinate me. Parade of monsters are quite popular in many Japanese anime, I think. there’s one in the movie Paprika, also in xxxHolic, and in the film ‘Cat Returns’ (although it was technically a cat parade).
    I’m not sure if there’s a Philippine version. When I tried to imagine it, the first thought that popped in my head is that last scene from the American horror movie “13 ghosts”

    Like

    • I’ve seen that dream-reality sequence in “Paprika” and the cats march in “The Cat Returns”, which are fun and engaging.
      Yes, I remember that scene from “13 ghosts”, when they exited the house and disappeared into the night. I’ve asked around and – it’s likely – that we do not have it. Either the creatures here are not as “united” or can’t be bothered to do so.
      “Hoozuki no Reitetsu” referred to it in its last episode. But from what I understood, they had a different purpose in mind.

      Like

What do you think?

