Red and Orange Shadows | Like the Shakespearean Sleeping Potion

I think I just entered an Edgar Allan Poe-Vincent Price phase. And I don’t know how to explain myself. Nor do I remember what triggered it.

Maybe it’s all the references on the shows I’ve seen of late.

Anyway, yesterday I saw the 1964 version of “The Masque of the Red Death”. Without rereading the story, I thought the movie was interesting. I believe some liberties were practiced; no big deal with me. But the last scene really took me by surprise; I am almost certain that it wasn’t in the original work. I have yet to read it again.

March of the Deaths (The Masque of the Red Death, 1964)
March of the Deaths (The Masque of the Red Death, 1964)

Just before the closing credits, Red Death by other hooded figures and each one had a different color. Their march haunted me.

It proved to be so haunting that I just had to look up the symbols. So far, I have five.

  • White Death – tuberculosis
  • Yellow Death – yellow fever
  • Blue Death – cholera
  • Purple Death – puerperal infection
  • Black Death – bubonic plague

Poe’s Red Death remains a mystery. So does the Orange Death; some argue that it’s actually a different color, like gold or bronze. Nonetheless, even though the latter is revealed, the former is still shrouded in shadow—much like Master William Shakespeare’s sleeping potion that Juliet used, but that is another post.

2 thoughts on “Red and Orange Shadows | Like the Shakespearean Sleeping Potion

  1. Speaking of Vincent Price, just wanted to share this. Have you seen this yet?

    Meanwhile, I haven’t seen that Masque adaptation yet. I must, therefore, rectify this situation the soonest. 😀

    Like

What do you think?

