Always with Hope | Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste

When was the last time a movie, a book, or a television show left you cold despite all your friends (and/or all the critics) raving about it? What was it that made you go against the critical consensus?

A force called out to me.

When I first saw it on the book shelf, I thought it was a gag book, that it would be a senseless parody of something I have seen when I was a kid. But an inexplicable power compelled me to flip through it and look between the covers. I was amazed at what I found. And I had to make it mine—all because the force was strong!

Last year, I bought (Master) William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, a New Hope by Ian Doescher.

William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, a New Hope by Ian Doescher
William Shakespeare’s Star Wars: Verily, a New Hope by Ian Doescher

The following February, I began reading the book. At first, I found it to be a wonder and a charm: a classic sci-fi story written with Shakespearean flair, complete with quotes! I liked how R2D2 had actual dialogue. I showed it off to friends and cousins, whose curiosities were also piqued by my predictably odd choice of reading material. And I began to relive the moments when I first saw the film.

But, by the time I reached the middle of the book, the force began to lose its hold on me. It could barely make me smile, much less laugh. I couldn’t enjoy it anymore all because I began to remember the moments when I first saw the film. I’ve known of the spoilers years before I read the book.

I did my best to power through with it but it felt more like a punishment than a pastime.

Though the force is no longer with that one, I still keep the book. It may find someone else who could finish its story. Until then, it waits, always with hope.

3 thoughts on “Always with Hope | Daily Prompt: Matters of Taste

What do you think?

