Experiments | Daily Prompt: To-Do? Done!

Quickly list five things you’d like to change in your life. Now, write a post about a day in your life once all five have been crossed off your to-do list.

1. Get hired by a certain government office for a certain job
2. Travel abroad by myself
3. Finish writing just one of the long stories that I have
4. Cook a decent meal + rice
5. Have my own place

I arrive home.

No, I did not return from the office. I’m from a 10-day vacation spent in the countryside of Italy. So I drag and pull through the door luggage filled with clothes that need to be washed and sneakers that must be cleaned because – man! – do they stink. But thank goodness that I now have place of my own, which means that no one else has to complain about the mess I am making or the smell that’s emanating from them.

So, while the washing machine rumbles, I’m making more messes at the kitchen. I am trying out the secrets I learned from Italian cooks and housewives about how they do pasta and pizza. It smells way better around the herbs and the spices than around more-than-a-week-old sweat stains.

Water boils. Water bubbles.

It’s a pain to do chores while cooking. And while I could have food delivered, I’m not going for that. I just used up a lot of my money. And there’s still stuff in the kitchen, which I just have to learn how to use. And use properly.

After a few minutes, I now know for certain. I have a long way to get my experiments to taste great. But at least they’re way more than edible. Plus seeing that my book is doing well does put a smile on my face. Now if only I could be certain I could wake up early when I return to work tomorrow. It is difficult to bring pasalubong with me during the morning commute after all.

2 thoughts on “Experiments | Daily Prompt: To-Do? Done!

What do you think?

