Summer Sun and Spice | Caution Hot! Spicy Noodle House

In this heat, it’s more predictable to go for cool or cold.

Strangely, that wasn’t what we did yesterday. It started last Saturday night with me posting a link to a restaurant that had four levels of spice to their noodles. Arby became excited about it and talked to me and MC about it. So in less than 30 minutes of planning, we agreed to brave the summer sun the next day to have hot, spicy noodles.

We easily found our destination: Caution Hot! Spicy Noodle House.

Upon entering, we discovered that besides the three of us, there were only two other customers. That was past 2:30PM on a Sunday. So it was quite quiet there. We had the attention of the wait staff, who presented us with the one-page menu as soon as we sat. We gave our choice of toppings, broth, noodles, and burn. Arby would’ve gone with Oolong Milk Tea until he heard me go for the bottomless Soy Milk, which made him change his mind quicker. That was also what was first served to us, followed by metal soup spoons and chopsticks.

Arby’s bowl arrived first. He had Beef Szechuan with Wheat Noodles and the Ultimate Burn. He wasn’t whistling but he loved it so much he asked us to sample it. I slurped a spoonful and it was good hot. His trick was to pace working his bowl. I guess it worked.

Beef Szechuan with Wheat Noodles and the Ultimate Burn
Beef Szechuan with Wheat Noodles and the Ultimate Burn

Mine was second, which was Beef Szechuan with Egg Noodles and the First Burn. Despite being the lowest spice level, there was considerable heat. At the onset, I had trouble figuring the metal chopsticks, specially when getting a hold of the noodles. After a few minutes of struggling, I finally found my personal technique. The beef slices were no problem because they were so soft. The only trouble I faced was with the bok choy, which Arby was more than willing to take.

Beef Szechuan with Egg Noodles and the First Burn
Beef Szechuan with Egg Noodles and the First Burn

Last was MC’s; he had Beef Classic with Wheat Noodles. Because his was the classic broth, it had no burn. He was the only one who actually finished the whole bowl of noodles. I’d believe he liked it a lot.

Beef Classic with Wheat Noodles
Beef Classic with Wheat Noodles

Possibly, I would’ve also finished my noodles but dessert arrived earlier than anticipated. Bao Bing is a mound of sweetened ice surrounded by jelly with various flavors like fig, almond, and grass along with slices of lychee and peach then topped with three scoops of vanilla ice cream. Between a piping hot bowl and melting cold bowl, I had to take the latter—which naturally rendered me without any appetite for the former. I also discovered that vanilla ice cream and lychee make a good pair.

A waitress handed us a survey form. Arby told me to answer it because I was the bigger foodie there. I just hope that Caution Hot! Spicy Noodle House likes the answers I gave.

Once we were finished or at least tried finishing and asked for the bill, we were surprised that each of us didn’t go over Php 400.00.

We then went to TriNoma Mall, where we came upon The Sweet Endings Dessert Fair. I would’ve normally taken a photo of the food displays but forgot to do so. Though I was able to take a picture of Taste N See Toasted Pastillas, which I later found to be small pieces of terrible chewy goodness—it’s almost addicting that it takes a lot from me to not finish the small bag. I asked when the fair would last and the lady said that it already was but they would return next Friday until Sunday at the same location: 3F, near the doors that face the fountain.

Taste N See Toasted Pastillas, Php 150.00
Taste N See Toasted Pastillas, Php 150.00

Arby, MC, and I were quite satisfied with the meal at Caution Hot! Spicy Noodle House. With stomachs filled, we went to Timezone to sing our hearts out—but that’s for the next post!

Caution Hot! Spicy Noodle House

#87 Magiting St., Teacher’s Village

Diliman, Quezon City

2 thoughts on “Summer Sun and Spice | Caution Hot! Spicy Noodle House

What do you think?

