Making Mud Pie Milkshake at Sebastian’s

This heat could melt humans.

At least, that’s what most people in metro feel these days. The temperature is less than 35° yet the heat index says that it soars higher than 40°. Shade and shelter are not the only necessities now; one must have a means to cool down, anything from water to air. My friends and I went a different direction: dessert.

Last Friday, I met Jake and MC for milkshakes at Sebastian’s Ice Cream, who had just released their new line of ice cream creations. Predictably, I wanted to try them. That’s why we were there.

Unfortunately, even Sebastian’s wasn’t spared from the consequences of having the almighty heat wave here. Their AC was on the fritz. While they still had a huge industrial fan, it wasn’t as cool but it was enough. We placed our orders, paid, then sat while waiting as they made the milkshakes.

Mine arrived first. It was the Peanut Butter & Jelly Milkshake. I love PB&J in its many forms so I had no hesitation choosing this one. It was creamy—but I wouldn’t be opposed to chunky. No skimping on the peanut butter. Though the strawberry jelly was not much of a presence, I could still definitely taste it.

Peanut Butter & Jelly, Php 125.00
Peanut Butter & Jelly, Php 125.00

Jake asked me to pick for me. My first choice was Tres Leches. But they were fresh out of condensed milk. So I had to pick another one. I went with Ultimate Chocolate milkshake, which was topped with mini chocolate chips. It was a decadent and heavy treat. Jake liked it so much that he brought it with him when he smoked. Guess I chose the right one.

Ultimate Chocolate, Php 125.00
Ultimate Chocolate, Php 125.00

As for MC, he was delighted with his choice, which was the Peppermint Brownie milkshake. I quote him: “it was the most perfect tasting peppermint brownies [I’ve] ever had, but in mind-boggling liquid form”.

Peppermint Brownie, Php 125.00
Peppermint Brownie, Php 125.00

During Jake’s turn at asking the tarot cards his questions and MC interpreting the cards, I had an epiphany: the peanut butter in my PB&J plus all that chocolate ice cream in Jake’s could result to mud pie milkshake. I exclaimed that to my two friends who seemed to have to this second of wondering what I was rambling about. I explained myself as easily as crazed fool could. Jake bought it and tried. He liked it. So did MC. Guess it did work.

Once we’ve had enough of dessert and finished with the tarot card session—which is another post—we decided to have dinner. At that side of SM Mall of Asia, I could easily think of three places that specialized in burgers, spicy food, and pasta. MC was inclined with the last option.

So, we went to Bistro Ravioli. Everything about it was just as I remember from two years ago. It took us a while to order because we kept talking. Guess the wait staff was relieved when we finally tried to get their attention.

Bistro Ravioli table display and condiments
Bistro Ravioli table display and condiments

Again, mine arrived first. I had the Three Cheese Ravioli, little pasta pillows filled with melted gooey goodness. Were I even half a decent cook, it would be one of my comfort food choices, specially when still warm.

Three Cheese Ravioli, Php 275.00
Three Cheese Ravioli, Php 275.00

Mushroom and Mozarella Ravioli came second and it was for MC. We never heard anything bad or good about it. From what I remember, he finished the whole plate.

Mushroom and Mozarella Ravioli, Php 275.00
Mushroom and Mozarella Ravioli, Php 275.00

Jake chose Puttanesca with Sun Dried Tomato, which had the usual taste of herbs and the tomato juices in the sauce. I was never able to taste the anchovies. Then again, maybe Jake all of it before I had a forkful.

Puttanesca with Sun Dried Tomato, Php 230.00
Puttanesca with Sun Dried Tomato, Php 230.00

The three of us shared a twelve inch Margherita Pizza. Nice thin and crispy crust with a toasted underside and a decent amount of cheese and great slices of tomatoes.

Margherita Pizza, Php 230.00
Margherita Pizza, Php 230.00

Sebastian’s Ice Cream

2F, SM Mall of Asia (near IMAX Exit)

Bistro Ravioli

GF, SM Mall of Asia

One thought on “Making Mud Pie Milkshake at Sebastian’s

What do you think?

