Foot Trip, Food Trip: The Maginhawa Stretch | Sunday Club Best

The plan was to make another food trip, which was not unusual.

What was unusual was it was only a food trip. No swinging by a culture-rich place or a side-trip to some historical spot. Neither Kelvin nor Cat made no other comment other than suggesting that I make the plans. So I planned the possible stops and wondered how the day would go.

First Stop: Gerry’s Jeepney

Kelvin wanted this stop for just one thing: the boodle fight experience.

I’ve often seen this place but always from the outside. I never noticed the jeeps inside but often wondered why they had big, colorful signs visible from the street that seemed out of place. Since I stepped in there, the motley expressions and explosion finally made sense. They had successfully captured the jeep culture.

Although we were there before 11 AM, we were only served at about 12:15 PM. We dismissed that to the fact that they were flooded with so many customers, specially because church had just finished.

Fun fact: despite being officially open at 11 AM, there were already dining customers when we arrived. My guess is that they open even earlier than they say they do, to accommodate as much as they could. Sunday may just be their busiest day.

We ordered the Cubao-Yale boodle, which is good for 2-4 people. It’s composed of rice, pork barbeque, chicken barbeque, inihaw na isda, ensaladang talong with itlog na maalat, four glasses of ice tea, and soup. All of it cost 730 Php. Personally, I loved the chicken barbeque and the inihaw na bangus a close second. They were generous with the rice and the drinks but everything else felt lacking—that or we just eat too much. Kelvin paid for three small leche flan, each for 50 Php—but I could swear I remember them costing more.

Second Stop: Caution Hot! 警告辣 Spicy Noodle House

Cat wanted to be there to have her fill of unlimited soya milk.

While Kelvin isn’t lactose intolerant, he was cautious about the effects of dairy products, specially when he would be walking in public and not at home. As for me, I’ve done it before and it wouldn’t be as filling if water and the Bao Bing were all I had.

One other thing Cat ordered was the five-piece set Kuchay, which I never bothered to ask about. Kelvin and I split the 95 Php dessert. Two other strange things: I never noted how many glasses Cat was able to down and I forgot to take a photo of the soya milk meant for Cat. So I give you the one I had on my first visit.

Third Stop: π Breakfast & Pies

Hands down, this was the most recommended stop.

Raf couldn’t help but rave about it when he took a date of his there. Kuya Ry loves their desserts. And officemate-fellow WordPress blogger Monching of The Monching’s Guide mentioned it to me. I myself have been meaning to try it since last year for the sole reason of tasting their version of the crack pie.

When I browsed their offerings, I could sense the panic building. There was no crack pie! No matter how I reread and flipped through the pages, it wouldn’t pop out of the paper. Then I went down the descriptions again and it dawned on me that the crack pie may just be called by a different name.

The Smack Pie was a good, solid piece of subtle earthy sweetness. And I finally had my answer to the question “Could crack pie be as addictive as they said it could?” The K-Lime Pie was, in every way, a refreshing break from the Smack, like a cool summer breeze on a hot day. What I did was, whenever I felt like I was getting too much Smack, I’d take a few forkfuls of the K-Lime. And I was back to eating form!

My biggest surprise was the Lemon Basil Fritz. The medley reminded me of cold guava juice of my childhood, with just an unexpected hint of ginger for heat.

Fourth Stop: Snack Shack

Fellow WordPress blogger Ero of SrcrubSuit Adventures rages at the mention of this place. And for good reason!

Cat and I ordered the Quarter Pounder with Cheese. For a burger that costs only 70 Php, it was good. Personally, I would pay for more cheese because that is just how I usually am with my burgers but I wanted to see how they prepare the order without extras.

My sole disappointment was that they did not give us free hugs, like what their sign said. Oh well.

Fifth Stop: The Nook Café

The hottest stop on my list and thankfully the last!

Unsurprisingly, there was a long line of people waiting to get inside. I’m guessing they’re either Potterheads or teens waiting to make their next DP-worthy photo there. My friends and I only wanted to have a taste of their version of butterbeer, which was sweeter than expected.

If you’re just as curious as we were, I suggest a few pointers.

  1. Be there early.
  2. Sign up for reservations. (You won’t see a sign that you should but you should.)
  3. Bring so much patience with you.
  4. Listen for your name.
  5. Respond when called. (And be as loud as possible. You might not be heard because of the din.)
  6. Be polite.
  7. Stand for your right.
  8. Remember your place in the line.

Could you sense something disagreeable happened to us at the last stop? But that is a different story altogether. In retrospect, I think we would’ve been able to hit more stops had we not filled up at the start. That makes for a good lesson for my friends and me, among other things.

Gerry’s Jeepney

#7 Maginhawa Street (Sunday Schedule: 11AM-11PM)

Caution Hot! 警告辣 Spicy Noodle House

#87 Magiting St. cor Maginhawa, Teacher’s Village (Sunday Schedule: 11AM-11PM)

π Breakfast & Pies

#39 Malingap Street (Sunday Schedule: 7AM-10PM)

Snack Shack

Luna Ext, Diliman, Quezon City (Near Savemore) (Sunday Schedule: 12NN-830PM)

The Nook Café

#164-A Maginhawa Street (Sunday Schedule: 1PM-10PM)

8 thoughts on “Foot Trip, Food Trip: The Maginhawa Stretch | Sunday Club Best

What do you think?

