Comfort and Company | Ristorante Bigoli

What’s your comfort food?

Personally, I have many. And while I usually choose them based on the time of day, it doesn’t always follow that rule. There are nights when I would have a hankering for spicy beef tapa, sweet chicken tocino, sunny side-up egg with a golden and unbroken yolk, all on a warm bed of sinangag that is light on the garlic and onions with hot chocolate on the side. I sometimes want breakfast food for dinner.

As for Kelvin, he loves Italian food. So after seeing Heneral Luna, I pointed him to Ristorante Bigoli. I didn’t have to sell it hard to him: just the mere mention of pasta is enough to pique his interest.

It was taking a while for the doctor to make up his mind so I went ahead to order for myself. When I came back, I brought with me Spaghetti Bolognese and a couple of garlic sticks. He saw the bread being given out to almost every table so I confirmed to him that, yes, the bread is unlimited and free.

Spaghetti Bolognese, Php 115.00
Spaghetti Bolognese, Php 115.00

Slipped back out to fill my glass with juice and came back with a shaker filled with cheese. Usually, these shakers are available at the counter; if ever they aren’t, one could ask for a small bowl of extra cheese.

Refillable Drinks, Php 65.00
Refillable Drinks, Php 65.00

The doctor seemed to love his meal of pizza and pasta. Kelvin finished it much faster than I did mine! That gave us more time to discuss the things we saw in the movie.

Spaghetti Bolognese and Pepperoni Pizza Combinazione, Php 150.00
Spaghetti Bolognese and Pepperoni Pizza Combinazione, Php 150.00

Guess some 15 minutes passed when the last item finally arrived: the Ultimate Beef Stromboli. I offered some to Kelvin and he immediately loved it. The rolled piece reminded him of pizza sans the cheese.

Ultimate Beef Stromboli, Php 150.00
Ultimate Beef Stromboli, Php 150.00

For the record, that is my default order at Bigoli: Spaghetti Bolognese, Ultimate Beef Stromboli, a slice of Turtle Cheesecake (which they did not have yesterday), and bottomless drinks of whatever I felt like having.

Why is that?

If science is right, I have come to associate those particular pieces with times I was in the same restaurant—just with different people for different occasions. The pasta for an eat-all-you-can contest; stromboli with the guys; drinks with the girls; and dessert with the best friend.

Frankly, I could eat just about anywhere. But I feel awkward when I dine alone, specially when it’s at fast food restaurants. At casual dining places? Not so much. But Bigoli’s is one of the few places where I have not felt alone even though I was.

Although Kelvin was my sole company there, it didn’t seem like it to me. I could remember and see other friends there with me. That is how the restaurant and its food comfort me.

Ristorante Bigoli
Fourth Floor, Trinoma Mall, North Triangle, Quezon City

4 thoughts on “Comfort and Company | Ristorante Bigoli

What do you think?

