Between Berlin and Bombay | At the Mall

All that walking at the museum made me hungry.

While there was a much nearer mall to the Museum of the Filipino People, I opted to go south than north. I had a particular craving and only one place could relieve it.

I took a jeep to Pedro Gil LRT station and alighted there. Then I walked all the way to Robinson’s Ermita. Once inside, I made a beeline to the topmost floor.

Hard as I try to remember when I last had Indian food, I couldn’t recall. All I knew was I wanted something warm, spicy, cheesy, and creamy on tender meat. That is why I was at New Bombay.

I asked for the Malai Murg Tikka. It was a set of big chunks of chicken placed on lettuce leaves. Topping it was a gracious serving of cheese. Alongside it were two choices of sauce: earthy green-colored cashew paste and a medley of Indian spices.

Truly, it hit the spot! Just what I needed.

Malai Murg Tikka, Php 295.00
Malai Murg Tikka, Php 295.00

Of course, I tried both sauces. I like the red one better. It had a medley of sweet and spicy that I prefer. While the cashew paste had a greater kick to it, what put me off was the texture. Predictably, I mixed both sauces and surprisingly they complemented each other.

My choice of drink is called the Almond Lassi. While itself is good—being nut-based, meaning earthy taste—I began to have too much earthiness in my mouth. I should have had something starkly different. Lesson learned!

Almond Lassi, Php 120.00
Almond Lassi, Php 120.00

Once dinner was over, I walked to my next destination. With each step, I was hoping there was still stock of it.

And there still was!

Rick Riordan released last week his brand new series, “Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard”. I have been a fan of his since I began “Percy Jackson & The Olympians” years ago. I love and adore “The Heroes of Olympus” and “The Kane Chronicles”. And I have good feeling about the new series’ first book, The Sword of Summer.

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer (Paperback), Php 545.00
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer (Paperback), Php 545.00

Sighting the book at National Bookstore was wonderful. But it was also painful because it was seated right next to another book I wanted to buy: A Knight of the Seven Kingdoms by George R.R. Martin.

I love and hate this sight.
I love and hate this sight.

If that wasn’t bad enough, I also saw other Riordan books Percy Jackson’s Greek Heroes and The Demigod Diaries. I could only take so much heartache in one day. I needed to escape.

So with only one book in tow, I headed for the cashier and paid. But I knew, I would get my hands on them soon.

(This is Part Two of a Two-Part Post.)

New Bombay
Fourth Floor, Robinsons Place Manila, Ermita, Manila

National Bookstore
Ground Floor, Robinsons Place Manila, Ermita, Manila

What do you think?

