New York Cheesecake Pancakes, Php 285.00

Pancakes for Dessert | IHOP Mall of Asia

You know how sometimes you avoid going somewhere but still end up there?

Strangely, that was what was kind of happening when I was with Jake when we stopped walking in front of IHOP. Just to be clear, I have nothing against IHOP, not even their price range. But, ever since the Spiral Lunch incident of 2012 (which is a whole other story altogether), I have become more aware of people’s certain dining preferences. That’s why I was wary of suggesting IHOP to Jake. He wasn’t oppressive with the idea of having dinner there so he and I marched inside.

The wait staff directed us to one of the booths. And – this is on me – but I forgot the name of the waiter assigned to the table. He was nice and patient because it took a while before Jake made up his mind about his order. I wanted chicken and cheese, which was easy. And because it was a pancake place, I had to ask for pancakes. But the struggle was picking which one.

Yes, you read that right: pancakes for dinner!

Personally, breakfast food is so good, it should be served all day. That’s why I love places like IHOP because not only is the breakfast menu extensive, they serve it even at night. Had I been hungrier than I was, I would’ve asked for the Breakfast Beef Tapa because I am curious as to how it stands against other known tapa places.

First order to arrive was the drinks. Jake had the Iced Coffee (original) and I the Spashberry. Coffee was coffee but the Splashberry was like a cheer dance competition in my mouth, which easily died down when the cheerleaders were gone.

Iced Coffee - Original, Php 145.00; Splashberry, Php 175.00
Iced Coffee – Original, Php 145.00; Splashberry, Php 175.00

I loved the Parmesan Chicken Strips. Nice tender meat though I wish it had more cheese. Or there was a cheese shaker at the table. There was ketchup on our table so why not a cheese shaker? But the revelation during the meal was the tenderloin tips, which were juicy through and through. It was so great, it made me crave for the tapa all the more.

Here’s a predictable moment: I dipped a strip of chicken in the juices of the steak tips. It was a foreign medley. You have no idea what they’re singing about but it just sounds like a Billboard chart-topper, which you buy.

Of course, to cap off the meal, there was the dessert, which was the pancakes. Jake protested that I order actual dessert like cake or ice cream because the stack I ordered was already sweet. Albeit, it was not dessert, the New York Cheesecake Pancakes did not disappoint. Even Jake liked it to the point that he went mad with the four syrups. I combined all four. Maybe the proportions were off by some bit because it did not taste melodious, more like a ruckus for a chorus.

The fun thing about all that: I could do it again—the eating of pancakes and beef, I mean.

 

IHOP
Entertainment Hall, North Wing, SM Mall of Asia, Pasay City

5 thoughts on “Pancakes for Dessert | IHOP Mall of Asia

What do you think?

