Addressing Me, the Reader | The Sword of Summer

[Spoiler alerts. You have been warned.]

Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan; Read: November 2015
Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard: The Sword of Summer by Rick Riordan; Read: November 2015

Dear Mr. Rick Riordan,

 

Sleeping late during the long weekend was worth it!

Yesterday, I just finished your latest book, The Sword of Summer, from the new series Magnus Chase and the Gods of Asgard. I would’ve finished your book much earlier if I was still at my old job and taking the train. But things in my life have changed. And, as I read the book, I realized that the same thing has happened with your writing style.

For one thing, you included so much more pop culture references. Thor and TV is a combination I never would have imagined; and he sounds more updated than I am! The way you entitled every chapter was strange and refreshing until you directly included me, the reader. I could be wrong about this but I think what you did would be the print equivalent of breaking the fourth wall. And just to be clear, I am not complaining. Actually, I found it quite nice that you address me in the middle of the book.

What caught me unaware though are the deaths—and in the first book, no less. Not that I am against them. I am just surprised, that’s all. My guess is, through the years and the series, I and the other readers have come to experience more character deaths. And it would no longer be at the later books.

Maybe it’s still too early to say which character is my favorite in this series. There’s still so much room and time for them to grow.

Before I forget, are you a foodie? That bit about the falafel made me wonder.

Until the next one comes out! Possibly by then, I would have finished your other two physical books, that one thick book you introduced, and – if I am lucky enough to get my hands on them – the other crossover books.

 

Respectfully,

Mati Serraño

2 thoughts on “Addressing Me, the Reader | The Sword of Summer

What do you think?

