Bigger Hawaiian Style Burger, Php 367.00; Swiss Cheese, Php 58.00; Grilled Mushrooms, Php 28.00

Third Time at Teddy’s

I sought sanctuary and sustenance.

But, in my hungry state, I would rather have the latter more than the former. After being relieved of a mental burden, I didn’t want to gamble. I didn’t want to take any more risks so I decided to return to somewhere I was certain I would love the food: Teddy’s Bigger Burgers.

Christmas Eve was my third time to visit them this year. It would probably be the last for this year, as well. But I believe they would see more of me next year.

While I was greeted with the usual “Aloha!”, I thought something strange was happening in the restaurant. It slowly dawned on me: I was the only customer. Everyone else there was a staff. You know how you enter a room and all eyes are on you? That! It felt so awkward that when I was handed the menu, I was more than willing to hide behind it. I almost didn’t notice something even if it was staring me in the face. They now have a menu! Or did they always have it but I was never handed one?

From the looks of it, they also seemed to have added more offerings.

Though I did say I wouldn’t want to risk anything today, I may just try a few new things. So, I asked for the Bigger Hawaiian Style Burger, which is a size larger than their usual. Then I added my usual slice of cheese; I picked Pepperjack this time. Unfortunately, they were fresh out of it so I settled for Swiss Cheese instead. And a bunch of Grilled Mushrooms, as well.

As expected, it was bigger. Just taking the first bite out of it was a challenge, which I readily accepted.

Bigger Hawaiian Style Burger, Php 367.00; Swiss Cheese, Php 58.00; Grilled Mushrooms, Php 28.00
Bigger Hawaiian Style Burger, Php 367.00; Swiss Cheese, Php 58.00; Grilled Mushrooms, Php 28.00

Hawaiian Style Burger was so good that I almost forgot that I also ordered a small batch of Cajun Fries, which I’ve never had before. They were cut thick and – despite being ignored for a few moments – they were still warm. But what surprised was they were hot! And I don’t mean a polite sprinkle of spices. It was a generous dash of heat. It was blowing my mind away!

To revive my tongue, I took sips from all-time favorite, the Vanilla Milkshake.

My whole experience there was great save for one thing, which basically happens every single time: the bottom bun soaks so much juice and oil from the patty and other toppings that it becomes soggy. While I contemplate if thicker bottom bun could deter the situation, it may ruin the proportion. So, scratch that idea.

 

Teddy’s Bigger Burgers
3F, Greenbelt 3, Makati City

15 thoughts on “Third Time at Teddy’s

What do you think?

