Consulting the Doctor About Chinese Weddings

Marvin told me to be at Fisher Mall by 1PM.

Despite dashing like a maniac, I was still late all thanks to the traffic. But there was no word from my friend so I just went around the mall. That was just my second time. I made sure that I had a better look at the place; I went up one floor after another, which is after I made a complete round of each floor.

While I waited for the doctor, I sat in front of Pedro n Coi, a restaurant at the 3F. From where I sat, the place looked quirky, like 90s Filipino pop culture exploded all over the place. The jeep installments reminded me of another Filipino restaurant at Maginhawa. And based on the standees, a beauty queen is the muse of the place, possibly even the owner—but that last one is just my guess.

I was half surprised to see an officemate at the mall. He recognized me and smiled at me so I returned the expression. Often, I find that people seem to be friendlier outside of the office, specially where they do not expect to see someone familiar.

By 2:30PM, Marvin appeared at my right. I uncrossed my legs and jumped off the bench. We checked out the menu of the nearby restaurant. The offerings had fun names and descriptions but they weren’t enticing enough.

After a tour of the place with Marvin and learning that he already had Japanese food, we settled for Middle Eastern. He perused food pages of the menu of Mister Kebab. The last time I had food from a branch of theirs was in 2012 and they only had a 2-page laminated menu then. The waitress seated us at a booth and waited as we made up our minds.

The doctor, as usual, asked for soup and an entrée. So he had the Shile and the Beryani Chicken; the former looked like the local monggo stew and Marvin remarked that it had the smell of Maggi cubes while the latter had a thick sauce and fair-tasting meat. And because he remembered that I took photos of food, he obliged my familiar peculiarity. I love it when friends remember.

Because I had been craving burgers at that time, I went for the Persian Burger with Cheese. What I got was something that looked like a shawarma. The doctor said that I should take a photo of it before and after I unwrap it. I did. Sadly, the “burger patty” lacked oomph and I couldn’t taste the cheese in any bite. And I hated to look if there was any so I didn’t. What made it bearable was the sauce from beryani, which gave it the kick it needed. It was Marvin who suggested that I try it with my food.

Groaning about the food was peppered with various topics, one of which was Chinese weddings. I told him that I found it strange that – in spite of the clear caveat – I saw attendees wearing black and charcoal suits and even dark blue dresses and shirts. Because Marvin is of Chinese descent, he shared some of the stuff that he knew about the wedding practices.

  1. If the caveat about color does not specify a gender, it is usually meant for females.
  2. Suits are allowed to be in dark colors; it’s the dress shirts that aren’t.
  3. Choosing the members of the entourage isn’t race exclusive. Sometimes, it could be based on the year of birth of the members and the couple—like what happened at his brother’s wedding.

Our meal ended with the Baklava. Not only did it taste way better back in 2012, there were two variants of it instead of just one. Thank goodness Marvin is good company.

Pistachio Baghlava, Php 90.00
Pistachio Baghlava, Php 90.00

Mister Kebab
Second Floor, Fisher Mall, Quezon Avenue, West Triangle, Quezon City

What do you think?

