Wonder and Hunger

Friends know I love desserts!

It is no wonder that I raved when Kumori finally opened a branch north of the metro. And it is not like any they have in the south. This one opened just this February and is found at the ground floor of SM North EDSA. Unlike the other branches, this one is neither stall nor kiosk but is a full-fledged café. It comes with its tables and chairs, as well a wider array of displays and offerings.

Kumori at SM North EDSA

Ever since last year, I have visited their first branch at Landmark a number of times already. Even though I am quite familiar with their pastries, seeing them always leaves me in wonder and hunger.

My first pick was an extension of lunch: Salmon Bonito. This would be my first Kumori bread that is far from being sweet. The filling of mashed fish meat is almost smooth; the texture of the bite comes from the soft bread and the papery bonito. Once I got my initial whiff of the salmon, it lingered. The aroma was quite strong.

Second was the Peach Brioche. I picked this hugely in the hopes that it would rid my mouth of the taste of the fish. And it did! The succulent slivers of the fruit cleansed my palate. Personally, I would’ve love more peach but there was only so much.

Third was the most curious choice of the batch: Cottage Cheese. I’ve had cottage cheese many times before; usually, it’s an ingredient for a cake, pie, or some other pastry. But I’ve never had it by itself. I know that it’s sold at many supermarkets but it’s only here that I’ve seen it be the own star of its show. And it did not disappoint. It was silky and creamy. And the serving size is – personally – just right. Any bigger and it might just bore other people.

From l-r: Hanjuku Cheese, Original (Php 48.00); Cottage Cheese (Php 58.00), Salmon Bonito (Php 55.00), and Peach Brioche (Php 51.00)
From l-r: Hanjuku Cheese, Original (Php 48.00); Cottage Cheese (Php 58.00), Salmon Bonito (Php 55.00), and Peach Brioche (Php 51.00)

Last was my favorite: Hanjuku Cheese, original flavor. As always, it was an absolute good. Were I not ashamed of the other customers, I would’ve licked the wrapper just to get the cake that was smothered on it.

Of course, like so many of my visits to Kumori, I had to ask the branch manager of the progress of the much-awaited melon bun. She said that she has been inundated with other similar inquiries and that she would forward our words to the management. I hope she does and may they listen to the requests of their fans.

 

Kumori
GF, The Block, SM North EDSA, Quezon City

6 thoughts on “Wonder and Hunger

What do you think?

