Inventory: 16 Films featuring Manic Pixie Dream Girls, 10 Great Songs Nearly Ruined by Saxophone, and 100 More Obsessively Specific Pop-Culture Lists by the Writer of the A.V. Club

A List About Lists

Dear A.V. Club,

 

Before I learned of your existence, I saw this book.

I usually start this with the reason why I bought a book. Unfortunately, my recall fails me. Maybe because I’ve read too many novels and I needed a break? Maybe I craved for something that was not a story? Or it has something with being a list about lists. One thing I am sure of: this book is most definitely something good.

For one thing, its size is bigger than the usual book I carry around; it’s more square than rectangle. And while it’s not as thick, it proved to be a challenge to open while inside a packed train. Despite the struggle, I have enjoyed reading it. And the quizzical looks I received were quite a bonus! A former lawyer-officemate was intrigued by the contents of the book that he even borrowed it.

Possibly, the title has something to do piquing people’s curiosity. Inventory: 16 Films featuring Manic Pixie Dream Girls, 10 Great Songs Nearly Ruined by Saxophone, and 100 More Obsessively Specific Pop-Culture Lists is certainly a mouthful.

Some of the lists that I noted were about music, books, and movies: “You’re Next! 15 movies where the crazies are right”, “I Like Short Songs: 100 killer songs clocking in at two minutes or less”, “Rare Reads: 17 books we wish were still in print”, “Not Again: 24 great films too painful to watch twice”, “Lost in Translation: 20 not-so-good movies based on good books”, and “Movies for Ears: 11 soundtrack albums better than the films”.

Even the rejected lists were fun!

Because of this book, I ended with little gems like The Triplets of Bellevile (2003), The Invasion of the Body Snatchers (1956), “Do You Want to Know a Secret” by the Beatles, “What a Fool Believes” by Self, and it possibly led me to owning a copy of Griffin & Sabine: An Extraordinary Correspondence by Nick Bantock.

Thank you for compiling those lists.

 

Respectfully,

Mati Serraño

What do you think?

