Mythology: Timeless Tales of Gods and Heroes by Edith Hamilton

A Different Approach

Dear Edith Hamilton,

 

Possibly, I came across your book when I was still in college.

I was in my junior year. And I was in a Mythology and Folklore class. Despite being a Christian school, the university didn’t lack for mythology books. But I wanted my own and one that they did not have. So, I went through the usual lineup. Bulfinch’s Mythology by Thomas Bulfinch was at the forefront, the one that the attendant would usually pick. If I went for that, I would’ve probably had the same lines and ideas that my classmates had.

That is why I bought your Mythology: Timeless Tales of Gods and Heroes.

Granted, my answers weren’t popular and I was barely sought after in class. But I received what I asked. My approach to the subject was different than most of the other students. There were a few who tuned in to the same frequency that I did; guess that’s why I found it easy to bounce off ideas with them.

Even with the class over, there were times when I would look for Mythology and read it for fun.

For me, it never sounded like those monotonous scholarly tomes or highfalutin high-brow volumes. There was never a chapter that left me drained of energy or too heavy to move to another page. For something light, I wanted more. But that is all there is to it. So, I just reread it, which I have done so many times that I have lost count. The dogearedness of the leaves attest to that!

Upon reading Rick Riordan’s Percy Jackson & Olympians series, I felt a familiar joy. It was almost like going through your Mythology all over again.

Sadly, I know you’ll never get to read this letter. Although I am glad to say that I am one of the many who have enjoyed your work time and time again. I am happy that I chose you to be my source. It’s an honor to have read one of your masterpieces and to have been blessed by it.

Thank you so much.

 

Respectfully,

Mati Serraño

What do you think?

