#Charotism: The Wit and Wisdom of Ethel Booba by Ethel Booba

Lightning Quips

Dear Ms. Ethel Booba,

 

Your book, #Charotism, was the first book I read this year.

It took me a while to find it though. During the New Year, word was that it was sold out at most book stores. I had my heart set at having a copy so, when before heading for the mall to hunt, I hoped that I would find one. While National Bookstore was the most convenient place, I headed a few floors up to Powerbooks; I thought that I would have better chances of finding the book because it was in a place that was out of the way.

My decision proved to be right.

There were about less than ten copies slightly hidden in the shelf. I took two copies; one for me, the other would be a gift for blogger-friend Pam. When she received it and opened the gift, she said that she immediately smiled at having books for her birthday.

Frankly, I’m not a Boobarian. I have heard of you since your days as an “Extra Challenge” co-host and thought of you as a goofy girl. You only registered in my world again last year during the campaign period, when Facebook was awash with so many reactions to politicians and the debates. While there were other celebrities who shared their thoughts online, a number of my friends pointed to you as being one of the few worth being read. Your wit was on point and it was concise—which was so refreshing after seeing wordy tirades.

All that and more I found in #Charotism. It’s an easy read but I made it last for as long as possible, which was less than three weeks. I needed the humor. And my friends were so curious about what else you wrote in your book, so I had to bring it with me for meet-ups.

Undoubtedly, I am now a fan of your lightning quips.

 

Respectfully,

Mati Serraño

2 thoughts on “Lightning Quips

What do you think?

