Oyakodon/Chicken Katsudon Set

Hidden Favorite, Discovered Berry

Have been so familiar with a restaurant that you know the menu by heart?

When friends said we’d have dinner at Yabu, I immediately knew what I wanted: Chicken Curry set, which would cost Php 375.00. Or the 80g Chicken Katsu set, Php 335.00. Dining was fun there because they would give sesame seeds which you yourself could pound using the mortar and pestle they’d provide; the ground seeds would then be mixed with the special sauce and poured onto the meat of choice.

As usual, I looked at all the offerings on the menu, even if I knew what I wanted.

Suddenly, at the flip of a page, I saw a photo of a familiar treat: golden fried meat resting on a saucy, runny bed of yellowed softness with little pools of savory fluid—all topped with shreds of greens. It was in the Katsudon section and is the chicken version of the dish. But I had no doubt that what I saw was my favorite oyakodon.

Oyakodon/Chicken Katsudon, Php 390.00
Oyakodon/Chicken Katsudon, Php 390.00

Only when my order arrived did I believe my luck! I had been craving for oyakodon for a while and it was just coincidence that I chanced on it. But the discoveries didn’t end there.

Friends thought of heading to Sebastian’s Cold Comfort for dessert. Because the summer flavors were still available, most of us ordered them. I picked the sampinit fruitsicle. What’s the sampinit? It’s a lesser known Philippine wild raspberry found in Quezon, Laguna, Palawan, and parts of Mindanao. At first bite, I was instantly nostalgic. The taste brought me back to my childhood. I don’t know if it’s the sampinit itself or the mix but there was something with the flavor that was so familiar but couldn’t pinpoint. That was, until one friend exclaimed that it reminded him of Kool-Aid and the mystery was solved.

Don’t you just love good surprises?

Yabu
Second
Floor, Main Mall, Mall of Asia Complex (MOA), Pasay City

Sebastian’s Cold Comfort
Second Floor, Main Mall, Mall of Asia Complex (MOA), Pasay City

What do you think?

