Control of the Situation | Daily Prompt: Tables Turned

Are as comfortable in front of a camera as behind one? Being written about, as well as writing?

I’ve never been written about.

Part of that may be because I have never allowed—so anything about me out there is unofficial. Just saying.

When I was part of the school annual, we braced ourselves for the mass of students who had to have their pictures taken. And there was always the race to events just to get that one in a million shot. Being a staffer at the school paper was hardly any different: we needed information and to have access to such, often we had to talk to other people.

Being behind the scenes is all about having control of the situation. Otherwise, you’re not in control.

To be fair, there are those who are in front of the camera who have taken control of the situation. But they are far and few in between. I believe I am not one of them.

 

12 thoughts on “Control of the Situation | Daily Prompt: Tables Turned

  1. Have to say, you really don’t know if you’ve been written about. I’ve written about all sorts of guys who were completely clueless about that fact. Today, I saw a guy at the gym I’m going to write about. Don’t know him, didn’t say hi to him, but he was wearing an interesting T-shirt and had super expressive eyes that are going to make their way into the novel I’m under contract (and behind deadline) for. Will he ever know? No way! Kind of like the guys I write about on my blog. Anyway, just saying don’t be so sure you’ve never been written about. Stranger things have happened. ; )

    Like

    • Well, like I said, anything about me out there is unofficial–since I myself did not approve of it.
      But you are right. One could write about someone–without actually saying the name–and still get away with it.
      Good luck with the novel. Hope you get it in before the deadline.

      Like

    • We had a number of them when we took pictures. Mostly girls.
      While they weren’t screaming their demands, they tend to be whiny. They complained when they didn’t like how theirs turned out. For students like that we gave a ten-shot limit. Our editor was a tolerating man.

      Like

What do you think?

