I Do Not Photoshop Any Picture I Upload | Daily Prompt: Party Animals (?)

After spending time with a group of people, do you feel energized and ready for anything or do you want to hide in the corner with a good book?

To be frank, I want to be the first to upload the pictures.

It’s a habit. Ask any of my friends. I race to have my set of photos uploaded to Facebook as soon as I could, which means it must be sooner than any of them. A few years back, when I had more time and inspiration, I captioned each one. Plus the album description was a veritable, painfully detailed blog post of what transpired during that occasion.

Why do I do that?

Mostly because I am on a high. I feel spirited, full of those good vibes from such a good time. And all of that must be recorded, while I still remember the details. A number of my friends said my verve shows in the way I wrote the description and captions. That was the lovable part. The hate-able part? I do not “filter” any of the pictures.

Yes, I do not Photoshop any picture I upload.

Call me strange but I believe in the natural and the actual moment that was frozen in that image. No touch-ups, no alterations, no cropping. Just how we—or they—really were when the picture was taken. Guess that is why a number of friends filter the photos I post. Not that I mean for any of those pictures to be a source of ridicule for any of them. Tell me that you’d rather a particular photo taken down and I will. No need to go ballistic on me.

But I’d rather that all of my photos were with real friends, not the ones that were Photoshopped.

16 Comments Add yours

  1. mobibrad says:

    I photoshop my pics mainly because i don’t have a fancy DSLR camera and rely on pocket or smartphone cameras all the time, but the editings are limites to brightness, contrast and saturation.

    Perhaps you also see it as a ‘violation’? Hehe

    Like

    1. Mati Serrano says:

      Violation? Maybe.
      Or perhaps something like: I remember her having “okay” skin–but not smooth as porcelain and white as snow skin?!
      Less confusion for my memory bank.

      Like

  2. ninano says:

    Without photoshop, my pictures would be boring. The whole idea of my photographic activity is to make things more beautiful. I enhance my photos, instead of drawing or painting as I did before. To me photo-editing is great fun.

    Like

    1. Mati Serrano says:

      To each his own, I say.

      Like

  3. Or to really beat the rush to post, you could always buy a Mobi card – cheapest one is around $75.
    I not a big fan of photoshopping my pictures either – maybe a minor tweak of of brightness, but that’s it.
    Enjoyed your post 🙂

    Like

    1. Mati Serrano says:

      I would love to try that but no such thing here.
      Thanks though.

      Like

  4. Patty Castro says:

    I’m guilty of adjusting the brightness or contrast of photos that I post. But just like you, I usually want to post “party” photos right away. It kind of validates that I spent my time on something worthwhile. 🙂

    Like

    1. Mati Serrano says:

      To be clear, I’m not telling to stop using Photoshop to enhance photos. That’s their thing.
      And yes–uploading the pictures is proof that you were somewhere with some people.

      Like

What do you think?