Pink Slime | Daily Prompt: Happy Endings

Tell us about something you’ve tried to quit. Did you go cold turkey, or for gradual change? Did it stick?

It has to be fast food.

During the third quarter of last year, I saw Jamie Oliver’s attempt to save the school children of the US from obesity and other dangers of eating so much processed food. And all that started because I saw the truth of how chicken nuggets were made.

For the record, I adored chicken nuggets. It doesn’t have to come from behind a restaurant’s counter. I myself would buy a whole bag from the grocery, along with special sauces that I’d pair with the nuggets for the best gastronomic pleasure.

But ever since I saw that pink slime, my mind has changed.

While I still eat the occasional chicken and beef, there’s a stark difference from the amount I ate last year and this year. And not just chicken nuggets but everything from fast food restaurants, including the sodas! I’m on way to being a vegetarian—if only the cooking and taste was consistent.