Wicked Dinner | Wicked Kitchen | Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Done!

As it’s been a while since our last free-write… set a timer for ten minutes. Write without pause (and no edits!) until you’re out of time. Then, publish what you have (it’s your call whether or not to give the post a once-over).

I felt like walking yesterday afternoon.

So, from Philcoa I walked all the way to my destination, which—by my usual happy speed—took about 30 minutes. I would’ve reached the place much faster, had I used a tricycle. But I must expend the energy! So while I soaked in the late afternoon sun, my feet poured out to the earth what thoughts I had in my head.

Thanks to a text from a friend, I had a good idea where I was headed. And I found it without delay.

Up to the second floor and, at the farther end, was the fulfillment of my curiosity. I’ve been meaning to go to Wicked Kitchen for months. But either I did not have company or company and I landed somewhere else.

Wicked Kitchen (from the inside looking out)
Wicked Kitchen (from the inside looking out)

Waitress greeted me and flashed a smile. Seconds after I had sat, she handed me the menu of three pages long, which was on a clipboard. A rice meal would be nice but I wanted what they called Ex’s Lasagna; the description sounded good but the name was throwing me off. My eyes darted from the menu for a moment and settled on the chalkboard, which featured an item named Rebound Lasagna. The difference: chicken. And the name sounded way better. So I ordered that, along with Kiwi Juice and Gluttony.

Entertained myself by reading the words and splashed across the front of their counter. Along with the menu items were what I believe was the owner’s philosophy about food and dining, which I immediately loved. I subscribe to practically all of them! Also, I took notice of the lighting fixtures.

First to arrive was Rebound Lasagna. It was more square than rectangle, plus smaller than what I was used to. It looked cooled enough but it was deceiving! It was still piping hot when I took my first forkful. Now that was a taste of good chicken and no skimping on the cheeses. It may have taken me awhile to finish the pasta but I was in no hurry.

Rebound Lasagna, 218.00
Rebound Lasagna, 218.00

Next came my drink, Kiwi Juice. I’ve always loved kiwi but more often than not, I’ve had them in slices. I believe that was my first time to have it in liquid form. Guess I’m that used to it as a juice that’s why I found it strange—but not in a bad way. Just not bursting with flavor as I’d hoped. Then again, it was mixed with water.

Kiwi Juice, 80.00
Kiwi Juice, 80.00

Last was dessert. Of all the offerings, I’ve always been curious with Gluttony, hugely because of the size that it boasted of. The restaurant poster said that a single serving is good for two while a shareable one was enough for four, maybe even five. First spoonful sans whipped cream, ice cream, and syrup was a revelation: solid and crunchy on the outside, soft and chewy goodness on the inside.

The waitress was attentive. Mostly because I was the only one to attend to there. I paid for the meal and just before I left, I used their comfort room. I believe that theirs is the first one I’ve seen to use a sliding door. And not only were there framed posters but also writings on the wall.

Predictably, I walked all the way back. I crossed the street and followed the line of restaurants. There were some that I had been to and some that were totally new. A couple of them had names that baffled me. Ulo2 sa Vet sounded like an eatery from a dark fantasy. Then I had a dyslexic moment, asking myself why anyone would want to claim that they’re the “creep man” because that could possibly turn off potential customers. After reading the name a second time, I learned I was mistaken. I passed by one that offered milkshakes, which were tempting despite already having fruit juice and dessert. And the biggest surprise is that one restaurant that we ate at months ago was still on soft opening, as the tarp on their gate claimed.

Wicked Kitchen
Second Floor, Maginhawa Building
189 Maginhawa Street, Sikatuna Village, Quezon City

4 thoughts on “Wicked Dinner | Wicked Kitchen | Daily Prompt: Ready, Set, Done!

What do you think?

