Good Company, Great Burgers | Burger Company

“This is unchartered territory.”

I rarely go to the Mother Ignacia area at Quezon City. The last time I was there was years ago; I think it was 2010 for a birthday treat that did not turn out well. Last Sunday was neither birthday nor treat but a dinner at a place largely unknown to me. Thankfully the tricycle driver knew where Mal and I planned to eat and he dropped us off right in front of it.

Burger Company doesn’t look as grand as its neighbor; I’d like to believe that they chose to understate focus on the food. They did put some interesting work on the exterior and interior though. The walls outside had graffiti-like art while the inside boasted of a shelf full of notes from customers who raved and raged about the food and experience they had. Also, there were other shelves stocked with board and card games for use and for sale. Too bad there was just two of us there.

After chatting up the waitress, we settled our order. Mal had Chicken BBQ Burger, Buffalo Trax Fries, and bottomless Iced Tea. The chicken breast was huge. And that was just one piece! The fries were no lies—they were truly spicy, spicier when we had them while they were still piping hot. The waitress was mostly prompt to refill the glass each time he asked.

Chicken BBQ Burger (175.00) Upgraded (+75.00); Buffalo Trax Fries (75.00)
Chicken BBQ Burger (175.00) Upgraded (+75.00); Buffalo Trax Fries (75.00)

When asked, my order consisted of PB&J Burger (sans bacon and bacon jam), Mozzarella Sticks, and Strawberry Chocnut Milkshake. I would’ve had the Fire & Ice Cake but they didn’t have it then, which made me kind of sad. Anyway, the PB&J lived up its name: no skimping on the PB or the J; both were spread evenly and struck a balance you could taste from the first to the last bite of the thick, juicy beef patty. And thank goodness that—while it did drip of its juices—it wasn’t as messy as other burgers.

PB&J Burger (225.00)
PB&J Burger (225.00)

Mozzarella Sticks were thicker than most. And best eaten when they were still warm because they did that stick-to-the-breading thing they are famous for. Left cold, they kind of lose some of their flavor and don’t stick as much. The Strawberry Chocnut Milkshake tickled me a lot, leaving me laughing after each sip. The strawberry flavor had its own presence; the right amount of sweetness wasn’t affected by the pieces of Chocnut, which remained solid despite being soaked at the bottom of the glass. The shake tasted like the fruit and chocolate tasted like chocolate. And that I like!

Before we left, I used their comfort room. It was reasonably spaced for a small place. And the most interesting thing there was a cabinet; I didn’t explore the contents nor did I photograph it. And while they prepared the change, we wrote them thank you notes and stuck them somewhere in the shelf near us.

Likely, I’ll return to Burger Company, if only to try the Fire & Ice Cake.

3 Comments Add yours

  1. John M says:

    A game of Ticket to Ride might not be too bad, either… 🙂

    Like

    1. Mati Serrano says:

      The game is new to me so looked for instructions.

      It does sound fun. Now if only I could find other friends who’d want to play it.

      Like

What do you think?